To Balochistan, with love

Before I wrote this poem, I thought of the title ‘To Balochistan, from Punjab’ but something struck. We’re not separate, I don’t believe in borders within a country.

I’ve never visited Balochistan but I plan on doing so. I hear it’s mountains and starry skies calling.

I never want any Balochi to think they don’t belong. They do. Right here.

A million years have passed

So I may stand next to you

Every moment in my life

Has lead to this

Our existence together 

Is not a coincidence

.

Do not ask

How they are

Because you know 

The answer is ‘fine’


Isn’t it about time

We start asking

What matters?

.

Do ask

Who they are

Because that is a question

Worth answering 

After a million years.

Leave a Reply

